We’re still reeling from the magic of #ANightOfYes! and we’re so proud of how our incredible Opening Act community came together to increase and deepen our impact for thousands of NYC teens in such a powerful way.
Check out these star-studded photos and a video from the night!
Photo by Charles Chessler

A NIGHT OF YES! cast members Marcus Denard Johnson, Liz Morgan, Heather Alicia Simms, Tom Pelphrey, and Melle Powers 

ABOUTStarring Orange is the New Black’s Uzo Aduba, Hamilton’s Okieriete Onaodowan, Moana’s Auli’i CravalhoHamilton’s Jasmine Cephas JonesAtlanta’s Zazie Beetz, Iron Fist’s Tom Pelphry, and The Deuce’s Dominique Fishback, and directed for the third year in a row by Tony Award-winner Kenny Leon (A Raisin in the Sun, HAIRSPRAY LIVE!), the event featured scenes by renowned playwrights Katori Hall and Ike Holter, an original work by the students of Opening Act, as well as special musical performances that amplified the #POWEROFYES.

Thank you to our community for saying YES to a powerful, celebratory, and uplifting night to support the remarkable young people of Opening Act!


PAST EVENTSLast year’s Play Reading, also directed by Kenny Leon, featured Tracey Scott Wilson’s The Story with a cast including Aja Naomi King (THE BIRTH OF A NATION, HOW TO GET AWAY WITH MURDER), Loretta Devine (WAITING TO EXHALE, GREY’S ANATOMY), Dulé Hill (THE WEST WING, PSYCH), Joshua Jackson (THE AFFAIR, DAWSON’S CREEK), Celia Keenan-Bolger (PETER AND THE STARCATCHER, …SPELLING BEE), and Brittany Adebumola (an Opening Act alum!).

Other past Play Reading actors include Uzo Aduba, Cynthia Nixon, John Slattery, Edie Falco, Anika Noni Rose, Beau Bridges, Bernadette Peters, and Courtney B. Vance, to name a few.

Click here for photos from prior events!  And here for a highlight reel from last year’s event!


The cast of THE STORY: Dulé Hill, Aja Naomi King, Joshua Jackson, Brittany Adebumola, Heather Alicia Simms, Loretta Devine, Nedra McClyde, Assistant Director Sam Godfrey, Celia Keenan-Bolger, Shalita Grant, Director Kenny Leon, and Liz Morgan. photo by Charles Chessler Photography

Want to SAY YES and be involved in our 2018 Benefit? Please contact Paul Gutkowski, Development Director, at or 917-657-8669.